The Mechanic is the Message

Brenda Brathwaite

The Mechanic is the Message captures and expresses difficult experiences through the medium of a game. Much like photographs, paintings, literature and music are capable of transmitting the full range of the human experience from one human to another, so too can games. Due to their interactivity, the installation suggests that games are capable of a higher form of communication, one which actively engages the participant and makes them a part of the experience rather than a passive observer.

The Mechanic is the Message is composed of six separate non-digital games that experiment with the traditional notion of the word “game”.

  • The New World, 2008
  • Síochán leat (aka “The Irish Game”), 2009
  • Train, 2009
  • Mexican Kitchen Workers – in prototype
  • Cité Soleil – in concepting
  • One Falls for Each of Us – in concepting

Brenda Brathwaite is the designer of these games. Inquiries may be directed to the game designer at her full name at